Skip to main content
more options
A Research Guide by Pat Court

  I. IMPORTANT SECONDARY SOURCES

Immigration Law and Procedure, 20 volumes; Stephen Yale-Loehr, co-author; analysis of law, text of statutes and regulations, procedural manuals
KF 4815 .G66
Lexis: Immigration > Treatises & Analytical Materials > Matthew Bender(R) > Gordon, Mailman & Yale-Loehr Immigration Law and Procedure

Interpreter Releases: Report and Analysis of Immigration & Nationality Law, synthesis of current topics and digest of recent decisions with analysis, published weekly
KF 4815 .A51
Microfilm 125, 1921-1971
Westlaw: INTERREL database, 1987-

Immigration Briefings, monthly publication on one major immigration topic
KF 4802 .I334
Westlaw: IMMIGRBRIEF database, 1988-

Bender's Immigration Bulletin, current awareness service includes articles, federal cases, BIA decisions, final, interim, & proposed rules and regulations.
KF 4221 .A65452
Lexis: Immigration > Treatises & Analytical Materials > Matthew Bender(R) > Bender's Immigration Bulletin

Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool
KF4819.3 .K96 on Reference

Return to top


  II. ADMINISTRATIVE DECISIONS

Administrative Decisions under Immigration and Nationality Laws, 1940/43 - 1989/95 official reporter of precedential "interim decisions" of the Board of Immigration Appeals, cite as I&N Dec., 1962 -
KF 4812 .A23; Interim Decisions Service, KF 4812 .A24
Lexis: Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Agency Decisions > Immigration Precedent Decisions, 1940 -
Westlaw: FIM-BIA database, 1940 -

Hein's Cumulative Index to Interim Precedent Decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals, 1940-1995
best index to the official reporter above
KF 4812 .7 .H47

Administrative Decisions Under Employer Sanctions & Unfair Immigration-Related Employment Practices Law, Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer, 1988 -
KF 4182 .A2 U58
Lexis: Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Agency Decisions > Office of Chief Admin. Hearing Officer Immigration Review Decisions, 1988 -
Westlaw: FIM-OCAHO, 1988 -

Administrative Appeals Unit Decisions
Lexis: Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Agency Decisions > Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) & AAU Non-Precedent Decisions
Westlaw: FIM-AAU, 1989-

Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals Decisions
Lexis, Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Agency Decisions > Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals Decisions, May 1987-
Westlaw: FIM-BALCA database, November 20, 1987 -

INS General Counsel Opinions
Lexis: Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Agency Decisions > INS and DOJ Legal Opinions
Westlaw: FIM-GCO

Return to top


  III. WEB SITES

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Executive Office for Immigration Review
Immigration court proceedings, appellate reviews, and administrative hearings through the Board of Immigration Appeals, Office of the Chief Immigration Judge, and Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer.

State Department, Bureau of Consular Affairs
International travel information from the State Department for U.S. citizens traveling abroad and for foreign citizens traveling to the U.S.

BIB Daily - Bender's Immigration Bulletin: Daily Edition
News from Inside and Outside the federal system on immigration.

Immigration Daily
This is the only daily newspaper on immigration law in the world. Has sections of use to immigration lawyers as well as for immigrants and employers.

American Immigration Lawyers Association
This is the web site for the professional organization of immigration lawyers.

Siskind's Immigration Bulletin
From a large immigration law firm, this bulletin is a popular source on immigration, offering full-text articles archived back to 1994.

Latest Developments in Immigration Law
Free access to Lexis updating information, providing important regulations, new forms, INS announcements, the latest cases, immigration news, and more.



  IV. FEDERAL RESOURCES
Foreign Affairs Manual
Immigration Law and Procedure
,
KF 4815 .G66
Lexis: Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Foreign Affairs Manual-Citizenship and Nationality
  Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Foreign Affairs Manual-Documents
  Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Foreign Affairs Manual-Visas
Westlaw: FIM-FAM

Technical Assistance Guide
Immigration Law and Procedure
, KF 4815 .G66
Lexis: Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > Technical Assistance Guide of the Employment and Training Administration
Westlaw: FIM-TAG
 
BALCA Deskbook
Immigration Law and Procedure
, KF 4815 .G66
Lexis: Immigration > Administrative Materials & Regulations > BALCA Deskbook
Westlaw: FIM-BALCADB

Return to top


  V. LAW REVIEW ARTICLES

Legal Resource Index --
875 legal journals and newspapers

Westlaw: LRI database, 1980-
Lexis: Secondary Legal > Annotations & Indexes > Legal Resource Index, 1980-
Current Law Index in print in Reading Room, 1980-


Index to Legal Periodicals --
725 legal journals

Index to Legal Periodicals, available on Cornell Library Gateway, 1981-
Index to Legal Periodicals in print in Reading Room, 1908-


Current Index to Legal Periodicals --
fast weekly indexing of recent legal journals

Binders in Reading Room, last 6 months
Westlaw: CILP database, last 8 weeks


HeinOnline Law Journal Library --
PDFs since vol. 1 of hundreds of legal journals

 

Full-text searching of articles --

Lexis: Secondary Legal > Law Reviews & Journals > US Law Reviews and Journals, Combined
Westlaw: JLR database


Return to top

- Pat Court -

Last modified: 01 October 2007   11:23